About feng shui

What is feng shui?

Feng shui is the art and science of designing harmonious environments based on the profound Chinese understanding of how people are connected to and affected by their close surroundings.

The principle aim of feng shui is to introduce specific positive changes and adjustments into living and working environments so that they are able to support you better, rather than possibly hindering you. Influences of the physical landscape, space, time and orientation  are all assessed. The core of this evolved ancient practice lies in seeking a wholesome, balanced relationship between yin and yang, qi and five elements, man and nature. Feng means wind. Shui means water.  Read more about history of feng shui

The benefits of feng shui

Feng shui can be a very effective tool for helping people to create harmonious working and living environments, which can also bring about other changes for the better as a consequence. But it cannot guarantee wealth, health or happiness. It is not magic, so beware of people who make such claims. Some scientific research into feng shui is taking place.

Three basic feng shui concepts

The Chinese word Qi expresses a complex natural force generated by a combination of both real and abstract sources, including sunlight, cosmic influences, colour vibrations, the movement and quality of the air around us, the flow of water, the nature of our thoughts and emotions, the form of objects, and so much more., Qi influences how a place feels and how we feel in it, depending on whether it can circulate harmoniously or not.

Yin and yang
The concept of yin and yang is that interconnection and continuous change is the dynamic process of nature, which is the significance expressed by the familiar yin-yang symbol. It is fundamental to Chinese cultural philosophy, as reflected in Daoist perceptions and in the Yijing. Examples are light and shade, inner and outer, movement and stillness. A balance between yin and yang creates harmony and stability in a place, as the natural equilibrium becomes disrupted whenever there is too much of one or other.

Five elements (wu xing)
The five elements, also known as the five phases or transformations, are water, wood, fire, earth and metal. They are correlated to the eight feng shui trigrams. Each trigram relates to a specific compass direction, colour, shape, season, family member and body part. The five elements can be either physical objects or metaphoric representations, used in various ways to strengthen, support, enhance, weaken, manage or control one another, depending upon their relationship and placement. They are introduced to beneficially influence a living space and to support its occupants.



Sign up for our mailing list.